United held by Arsenal

Manchester United’s hopes of amassing a record number of Premier League points for a season were ended as the Champions only managed to draw with Arsenal at the Emirates Stadium yesterday afternoon.

Theo Walcott had given the Gunners a lead after just two minutes, following a mistake from Robin Van Persie, who lost possession seconds before the England internationals composed finish.

The former Arsenal captain was then booked on twenty-eight minutes following his foul on Per Mertesacker, but the Dutchman made amends just before the break when he emphatically dispatched a spot kick awarded after he himself was brought down by Bacary Sagna.

Sir Alex Ferguson’s men can now finish on 94 points if they win their final three games, starting with the visit of Chelsea, who hold the league record of 95 points, next weekend.

Meanwhile, , David De Gea, Rio Ferdinand, Michael Carrick and Robin Van Persie were all named in the PFA Team of the Year yesterday evening, with the latter two missing out to Tottenham Hotspur’s Gareth Bale for the top individual prize.

Bale also clinched the Young Player of the Year award, and becomes the first since Cristiano Ronaldo to take both prizes in the same season, while the Championship Player of the Year went to United bound Wilfred Zaha.